Search Bee Cave

Wednesday, 17th January 2018

in Bee Cave TX 78738

Bee Cave Weather

28 Merit Scholars


Lake Travis High School (LTHS) principal Kimberly Brents is pleased to announce that 28 seniors have been recognized by the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

These students entered the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (NMSQT) as high school juniors in 2012.  They were chosen from more than 1.5 million program entrants and represent less than one percent of each state’s high school seniors.  According to the National Merit Scholarship Program, these students are the top scorers from each state and show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.  Additionally, the National Hispanic Recognition Program identifies nearly 5,000 outstanding Hispanic/Latino students each year, while the National Achievement Scholarship Program provides recognition for outstanding Black American high school students.


“Our students continue to raise the bar on academic excellence,” said Kimberly Brents, LTHS principal.  “Their success not only reflects the quality and caliber of our teachers and staff who directly impact student learning, it also reflects the support and commitment of their parents who are instrumental to their success.”

Earlier this month, approximately two-thirds of the 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT received letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended students are named on the basis of a nationally applied index score that may vary from year to year.  The remaining one-third of these students were then notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists and are eligible to receive a National Merit Scholarship.  Semifinalists advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements.


In February 2014, some 15,000 Semifinalists will be notified by mail that they have advanced to Finalist standing.

The following students are recognized by the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program:

♣    Mary Louisa Angly            Commended
♣    Melissa Beaudin-Vandolder        Commended
♣    Nicole Beirne                Commended
♣    Kayla Berry                Commended
♣    Elise Czuchna                National Hispanic Scholar
♣    Stephanie Darnell            Semifinalist
♣    Elliott De Laat                Commended
♣    Kai Devoglaer                Commended
♣    Sagar Dhana                Commended
♣    Andie Edwards            Commended
♣    Ian Friedman                Commended
♣    Amy Hostetter            Semifinalist
♣    Soren Jespersen            Commended
♣    Rachel  Keathley            Semifinalist
♣    Joseph Melendez            Semifinalist, National Hispanic Scholar
♣    Bailey Meyer                Semifinalist, National Hispanic Scholar
♣    Gyu-Hee Min                Semifinalist
♣    Derrick Ngo                Semifinalist
♣    Vivy Ngo                Commended
♣    Melanie Nichols            Commended
♣    Patrick Rodriguez            National Hispanic Scholar
♣    Hans Steffes                Commended
♣    Olivia Thorpe                National Achievement Outstanding Participant
♣    Samantha Waugh            Commended
♣    Sydney Wheatley            Commended
♣    Amanda Wolken            Semifinalist
♣    Malcolm Wood            Commended
♣    Rachel Wyatt                National Achievement Outstanding Participant               

The students will be recognized by the LTISD school board at the October 15 regular meeting and during halftime of the Lake Travis vs. Westlake varsity football game on November 1, among other events.



Register for our newsletters and savings coupons.

We never rent or sell our list, ever.